Kicking The Ass Of Body Image

So I’ve seen a few blogs wandering around the blogosphere recently about body image, and I thought it was only fair to give all of you floundering about for the definitive word on the matter my view, thus foiling any qualms or queries you might have (because I am the last word on any affair, obviously, the reason there is still conflict in the middle-east? They’ve not called me in yet, I’m still waiting).

One thing that has forced me to put down my cup of tea and start typing are the blogs I’ve read that seem to say things like ‘oh my god, we should all feel so great about our bodies without caring? Cake? Oh I eat cake all the time and I’m a size two, I don’t know I just think its balance my six-pack is natural blah blah blah’. Ladies ladies, lets face it, you’re all liars. I too very much support balance, healthy eating, and a positive body image, but don’t come knocking on my door saying you’ve never done a crash diet or eaten an entire bag of (insert your food product of choice here, I think I’ll choose a various chocolate item) on your own because we all know its not true.

20130516-085941.jpg

I think something we don’t promote in the UK enough is a healthy all-round lifestyle, such as exercise as well as diet, getting rid of the smoking culture that doesn’t exist in other countries. Before I went to the US the general media told me to expect a morbidly obese unhealthy population, but compared to England I really don’t think we are much better. I can count on my hand, for example, the number of smokers I saw in a month as I travelled through five states, whereas I can’t even count on two hands the number of grey wheezy people I saw lighting up outside Heathrow when my dad picked me up.

‘Great Ella, so what do you suggest as you’re obviously an expert?’ Well voice in my head I shall tell you. I think we should all have a realistic view of what people look like without clothes on, see ‘Bikinis And Beach Bodies’, as well as positive goals to achieve. And I think the way to do that is to focus on being healthy, not being skinny. At school I was never sporty and so never had any pressure to do anything physical. In school sport to be malco-ordinated is to be damned (screw you netball team) but getting out in the world I’ve discovered that I like exercise, it makes me feel really good about myself, not because its turned me into a sex symbol but because I like the feeling of empowerment I get when I look like I’m crying sweat (it tastes like salt and victory!). The point is it isn’t about how you look, it’s about how you feel, and we should do what we want to get that out of our bodies, whether it be yoga, kickboxing or having a silent disco in your room (… Guess which one I am). I think this was really well demonstrated by Angelina Jolie coming out and saying she’s had a double mastectomy. This phenomenal looking woman, who’d is undoubtably a sex-symbol, has demonstrated that your health is the number one thing we should be looking out for. Is she sacrificing her place as a sex icon? Well I don’t think so, I just think she’s gaining her place as a role-model, so love and support to her.

So there you have it ladies and gentlemen, my view on you, and me, and pretty much y’all out there! Think strong and be strong, feel the fear and do it anyway, you know the drill. Hope you’ve enjoyed the post today and as always I want to hear your thoughts!

Image taken from: http://www.filmofilia.com/david-schwimmers-film-directing-debut-run-fatboy-run-1944/

4 thoughts on “Kicking The Ass Of Body Image

  1. Love the idea of health first sex symbol status much much further down the list. Somehow things always get messed up for me lol

    1. Haha I think it does for everyone! I just think if you try to be healthy then you’ll always be sexy, but a lot of the time people (and I’m on that list, probably along with everyone else!) get it muddled up, which is seen all the time in the media with unhealthy but thin celebrities!

Comments are closed.