I’m Glad I’m Not Grace Kelly

20121219-011757.jpg image used; http://www.doctormacro.com/movie%20star%20pages/Kelly,%20Grace-Annex.htm

Grab your aqualung kids, today we’re going deep.

The other day I saw this post by ‘Girl and Gun’ on freshly pressed, maybe you did too, that’s great, tell me more, no shhh we’re talking about me right now…so rude… It was essentially about this film called ‘The Philadelphia Story’ which I hadn’t seen but have seen the musical version ‘High Society’. Incidentally if you see this girl and, in fact, your gun, I loved your version which I watched on recommendation, but I also love a musical so mine shall win this totally subjective competition which I just made up. But it made me think a thought and I am here today to share that with you….

We all in some way strive to be beautiful or ‘perfect’. Everyday you see something that tells you that this is what you should do! Girls in music videos are all perfect and sexy, presenting you with the perfect fantasy of what you should look like ‘at da club’. For guys it’s just as bad, everywhere you go you’re assaulted with advertising telling you you have to show certain ‘masculine’ traits to be the perfect male, may it be in a perfume advert (which in itself is quite ironic) or just in FHM.

Grace Kelly is perfect, in ‘High Society’ she is this untouchable goddess. But she isn’t happy, she needs to let go and become imperfect, to stop bowing to societies pressures and do something wrong, only then can she become a ‘”first class human being”, and so in that way not be perfect but be truly beautiful, and happy. Ladies and Gentlemen, boys and girls, no one has learnt from Grace Kelly.

We have an innate drive show our imperfections to those around us to feel truly close to them, our dark stories, our ugly days. In a weird way, because the stories we tell are what make us truly us, these ‘bad’ things are what make you beautiful. And not in a ‘because you’re worth it’ way. You are beautiful because you are imperfect. No one actually at the end of it wants to be the perfect image they may or may not try to present us with.

Another example of this is in ‘The Great Gatsby’, Gatsby resembles the American dream of the 1920’s. He is rich, he is handsome, it seems he has everything. Through the eyes of Nick, his friend and narrator of the book, we see that this isn’t so, and yet Nick, the only person who saw the corruption of the “gorgeous” Gatsby is the only one to go to his funeral (sorry if I ruined the book for you there… Dumbledore dies…)

It’s not like this is a recent phenomenon, and the introduction of Facebook, Twitter and maybe blogs to a certain extent hasn’t helped the situation. But this is my blog so I get to tell you not to worry so much about being perfect. I’m not and you’re not and that’s fine because that’s why you’re you. And no one, at the end of it, wants to be Grace Kelly.

4 thoughts on “I’m Glad I’m Not Grace Kelly

Comments are closed.